全球行动呼吁

行动呼吁

“行动十年”中的志愿服务

序言

我们颂扬各种形式的志愿服务精神,赞扬世界各地各类志愿者的行动、贡献和努力,赞扬他们帮助实现《2030年可持续发展议程》的目标和原则,确保不让任何人掉队。

我们承认实现可持续发展目标的共同紧迫感和远大抱负,意识到2019冠状病毒病疫情带来的挑战,认可2020年7月13日至16日举行的“为《2030年议程》重新构想志愿服务”全球技术会议的性质和结论。

我们认识到联合国会员国、联合国系统、志愿者组织、民间社会、私营部门和学术界在实施《将志愿服务纳入<2030年可持续发展议程>行动计划》时取得的进展和付出的共同努力。我们也认识到志愿服务在最近全球应对2019冠状病毒病疫情中发挥的关键作用。

我们注意到在《行动计划》的三个目标(主人翁意识、纳入和衡量)方面取得的逐步进展,承诺在以下方面加倍努力:
•    确保志愿服务转化为所有人都能拥有更有意义的主人翁意识的发展议程,以实现可持续发展目标,不分种族、肤色、性别、语言、宗教、政治或其他见解、国籍或社会出身、财产、出生、残疾或其他身份等任何区别。
•    认识到通过综合的国家、部门和地方计划,各类志愿者作为创新者、企业家、领导者、专家和宝贵的合作伙伴,均可为推动实现可持续发展目标的行动和进展作出贡献;以及
•    开发、试点和使用新的工具和方法,以衡量和更好地了解志愿服务的规模、范围和经济及社会贡献,作为加强志愿服务知识基础的一部分。


愿景:开展“行动十年”志愿服务,实现可持续发展目标

志愿服务是改变和加快实现《2030年议程》和可持续发展目标的独特资源。贯穿“行动十年”始终,我们将促进所有利益攸关方的集体努力,以便:
•    动员每个地方、每个人
•    要求具备紧迫感和远大抱负
•    把想法加速变成解决方案

在这一行动呼吁中,我们承诺(并呼吁其他人也这样做)执行“行动十年”中志愿服务的愿景,以便:

•    认可并支持志愿服务实践的多样性,特别是在全球南方;
•    培育志愿服务的变革潜力;
•    确保志愿服务政策环境适应志愿服务模式和可持续发展格局的变化;
•    更好地将志愿服务纳入政策和规划,作为实现《2030年议程》全社会方法的一部分;
•    鼓励利益攸关方建立新的伙伴关系和联盟,帮助最大限度地发挥志愿服务对可持续发展目标的影响;以及
•    鼓励行动者投资于为志愿者赋权并提供保护的新方式,包括新的政策和保障措施,特别是针对地方和非正式志愿者的政策和保障措施。

为了努力实现这一愿景,我们将通过以下方式推动《2030年议程》的各项原则:

•    更进一步,通过志愿服务,对不同背景的人和社区的复原力进行有针对性的投资;
•    加快速度,将志愿服务作为全社会伙伴关系的一种机制,加速解决不平等和气候变化等全球紧迫挑战;以及
•    齐心协力,以志愿服务这种方式提升话语权和主人翁意识,特别是针对妇女和女童、残疾人、土著人民、难民和其他经常被排斥的群体。

我们将如何实现这一愿景?

在未来十年,我们将:

1.    通过以下方式,在实现可持续发展目标的过程中扩展获得志愿服务和参与志愿服务的机会:
•    推进与志愿者的接触,以加强贯穿可持续发展目标的综合方法,例如在数字化社区、金融包容性、弹性城市、性别平等和社会凝聚力等领域;
•    支持在不损害非正式志愿服务独特价值和特性的情况下,将其视为一种有效手段,应对需要采取当地行动和以人为本的行动的全球挑战;以及
•    鼓励私营部门加大对各类志愿者运动的支持力度。

2.    通过以下方式,确保志愿服务不再是正式的、有组织的志愿者的专利品:
•    为非正式志愿者提供更多资源,包括通过知识、培训和信息等互动空间,线上和线下非正式平台,来寻求他人的建议和指导,获得相关工具和网络,使志愿者能够反思自身经历并从中学习、产生一种休戚与共感(即使对于那些独自行动的人也是如此);以及
•    开发新的参与、协调和合作形式,以保留非正式志愿服务的精神,例如,将这些行为作为备灾计划的一部分,以支持危机期间志愿活动数量激增的情形,或在转换针对不同问题的运动时,始终保持参与度。

3.    通过以下方式解决志愿服务中的不平等和风险:
•    为落在最后的群体消除参与志愿服务的障碍,包括在获取技术方面,通过政策和方案来支付志愿活动的费用;
•    促进旨在推动平等、多样性和包容性的措施,为那些最能从中受益的人,例如未受教育或未就业的年轻人,提供最有利的机会、奖励和认证;
•    推动和颁布政策、保障措施和规范,消除志愿工作中的不平等现象,确保在不同性别、年龄组和社会群体之间共享利益;以及
•    通过实施新的保险和身心健康支持模式,以及在人道主义工作中为保护志愿者提供支持,确保志愿者的安全。

4.    通过以下方式,加强相关结构,让人们通过志愿服务形成对发展进程的主人翁意识:
•    促成各种结构和倡议,例如自愿委员会,通过自愿行动将人们聚集在一起,共同应对复杂的发展挑战;
•    确保有目的性地将由志愿者主导的数据和见解纳入发展进程,例如,通过投资数字和非数字数据和信息平台,为人们解决影响自身以及志愿服务的各种问题贡献知识和创造知识;以及
•    认可和支持以人为主导的机制以及正式和非正式机构,如志愿人员可持续发展目标理事会或地方、国家和区域层面的社会对话,使志愿者及其支持者能够分享他们的需求、优先事项、反馈和经验,作为全社会响应的一部分。

5.    通过以下方式,创建自愿行动的新模式,将想法转化为解决方案:

•    为专家创造和扩充空间和资源,使其自愿在时限内奉献针对具体情况的知识和能力,以便会员国和其他发展行动者帮助设计可持续发展解决方案;
•    大规模投资开发新模式和新工具,将由志愿者主导的可持续发展解决方案与志愿者确定的挑战进行匹配;
•    支持创建非正式虚拟空间,让包括志愿者、决策者、从业者、学术界和私营部门在内的各种利益攸关方分享有关志愿行动的创意,以加速所有类型的知识共享,包括在直接社区以外的地方知识共享;以及
•    继续调动资源和精力,为个人和团队创造机会,从公开可用的数据中获取新观点,从而加速将想法转变为解决方案的进程。

6.    通过以下方式,衡量对志愿人员福利和《2030年议程》的影响:
•    投资涉及参与趋势和模式的国家数据,以帮助了解志愿者群体及其发挥的作用,特别是利用国际劳工组织开发的全球标准和工具;
•    除了推广用文化敏感性来评估影响的方法外,还要使了解志愿服务的成本和利益的方法多样化,不仅为了受益的组织,还为了志愿者本身和整个社会;以及
•    强化影响模型,使决策者能够更好地了解志愿服务在各个层面的持久影响,以及不同的志愿服务模式和方法的相对影响,并进一步认识到志愿服务在推动政策一致性和一体化方面的价值。

7.    通过以下方法,加强志愿者工作与可持续发展目标差距和挑战之间的一致性:
•    确保彻底评估志愿服务实践、方法和模式的多样性,作为改变和填补可持续发展目标差距并应对全球,区域,国家和地方各级挑战的政策选择,包括将其纳入国家、部门和地方战略和计划;以及
•    不局限于仅由志愿者参与的干预措施和项目所作的积极贡献,更好地反映重新构想志愿服务的多样性和独特的方法及其对会员国主导的可持续发展目标路径和轨迹的变革及加速作用。

我们将如何携手合作?

•    我们呼吁:包括联合国会员国、联合国系统、志愿者组织、民间社会、私营部门和学术界在内的所有利益攸关方发挥热情、承诺、领导能力、创造力和创新精神,参与我们为“行动十年”志愿服务重新构想的方法中。
•    我们呼吁:全球志愿者深化参与和团结一致,助力实现可持续发展目标。
•    我们呼吁:分享新的证据和知识,增强“志愿服务促进《2030年议程》”的潜力和影响,并为支持行动者产生证据和知识提供资金,特别是来自全球南方的行动者。
•    我们呼吁:扩展并多样化合作、联盟和伙伴关系形式,采取更迅速灵活的方式汇集不同的观点、技能和模式,为促进实现可持续发展目标的志愿服务重新注入活力。
展望2030年及以后,我们希望通过在“行动十年”期间为《2030年议程》重新构想志愿服务,颂扬各种形式的志愿服务精神,赞扬世界各地各类志愿者的行动、贡献和努力。

GLOBAL CALL TO ACTION

Call to Action

 

Volunteering in the Decade of Action

 

Preamble

 

We celebrate the spirit of all forms of volunteering and applaud the action, contributions and effort of all types of volunteers throughout the world, helping to meet the goals and principles of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and ensure no one is left behind.

 

We acknowledge the shared sense of urgency and ambition to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and the nature and conclusions of the global technical meeting on reimagining volunteering for the 2030 Agenda held on 13–16 July 2020.

 

We recognize the progress and collective efforts of United Nations Member States, the United Nations system, volunteer-involving organizations, civil society, the private sector and academia to implement the Plan of Action to Integrate Volunteering into the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. We also recognize the pivotal role volunteering has played in the recent global response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

Taking note of the incremental progress across the three objectives of the Plan of Action (ownership, integration and measurement), we pledge to do more to:

  • ensure that volunteering translates into more meaningful ownership of the development agenda by all people to achieve the SDGs, without distinction of any kind as to race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth, disability or other status;
  • recognize through integrated national, sectoral and local plans how all types of volunteers can contribute as innovators, entrepreneurs, leaders, experts and valued partners to drive SDG action and progress; and
  • develop, pilot and use new tools and approaches to measure and better understand the scale, scope and economic and social contributions of volunteering as part of strengthening its knowledge base.

 

 

The vision: volunteering in the Decade of Action to achieve the SDGs

 

Volunteering is a unique resource for transforming and accelerating the 2030 Agenda and the SDGs. Throughout the Decade of Action, we will contribute to the collective efforts of all stakeholders in order to:

  • mobilize everyone, everywhere
  • demand urgency and ambition
  • supercharge ideas to solutions

 

In this Call to Action, we commit to – and call on others to do the same – implementing the vision of volunteering for the Decade of Action to:

 

  • recognize and support the full diversity of volunteering practices, particularly in the global South;
  • cultivate the transformational potential of volunteering;
  • ensure the volunteering policy environment responds to shifts in volunteering patterns and the sustainable development landscape;
  • better integrate volunteering into policies and planning as part of whole-of-society approaches to the 2030 Agenda;
  • encourage stakeholders to form new partnerships and alliances that can help maximize the impact of volunteering on the SDGs; and
  • encourage actors to invest in new ways that empower and protect volunteers, including new policies and safeguards, particularly for local and informal volunteers.

 

By committing to this vision, we will boost the principles of the 2030 Agenda by:

 

  • going further through targeted investment in the resilience of people and communities with diverse backgrounds through volunteering;
  • going faster with volunteering as a mechanism for whole-of-society partnerships that accelerate progress in addressing urgent global challenges like inequality and climate change; and
  • going together with volunteering as a channel to promote voice and ownership, particularly for women and girls, people with disabilities, indigenous peoples, refugees and any other groups often considered excluded.

 

How will we achieve this vision?

 

Over the next decade, we will:

 

  1. Scale up access to volunteering and volunteering opportunities across the SDGs by:
  • boosting engagement with volunteers to strengthen integrated approaches across the SDGs, for example, in the areas of digital communities, financial inclusion, resilient cities, gender equality and social cohesion;
  • supporting ways to recognize informal volunteering as a relevant means to contribute to addressing global challenges that require local and people-centred action, without undermining its unique values and attributes; and
  • encouraging the private sector to scale up its support to diverse volunteer movements.

 

  1. Ensure volunteering is well supported beyond formal, organization-based opportunities by:
  • increasing resources for people who volunteer informally, including through interactive spaces for knowledge, training and information, online and on-site informal platforms to seek ideas and guidance from others, and tools and networks that enable volunteers to reflect and learn from their experiences and provide a sense of solidarity, even for those acting alone; and
  • developing new forms of engagement, coordination and cooperation that preserve the spirit of informal volunteering, for example, as part of preparedness plans to support surges in volunteering during crises or to sustain engagement from one issue-based campaign to another.

 

  1. Address inequalities and risks in volunteering by:
  • removing barriers to volunteering for the groups furthest behind, including through policies and programmes that cover the costs for volunteer activities when it comes to accessing technology;
  • promoting measures that foster equality, diversity and inclusion and open up the most beneficial opportunities, rewards and accreditation to those who would benefit most, for example, young people who are not in education or employment;
  • promoting and enacting policies, safeguards and norms that remove inequalities in volunteering tasks and ensure benefits are shared between and across genders, age groups and social groups; and
  • ensuring the safety and security of volunteers by implementing new models for insurance and physical and mental health support, as well as building support for the protection of volunteers in humanitarian work.

 

  1. Strengthen structures for people’s ownership of development processes through volunteering by:
  • facilitating structures and initiatives, such as voluntary commissions, that bring people together through voluntary action to look at complex development challenges;
  • ensuring volunteer-led data and insights are meaningfully integrated into development processes, for example, through investment in both digital and non-digital data and information platforms that allow people to contribute and create knowledge on the issues that affect them, as well as on volunteering; and
  • recognizing and supporting people led mechanisms and formal and informal bodies, such as volunteer SDG councils or social dialogues at the local, national and regional level that enable volunteers and their supporters to share their needs, priorities, feedback and experiences as part of whole-of-society responses.

 

  1. Create new models for voluntary action to supercharge ideas to solutions by:

 

  • creating and widening space and resources for experts to volunteer their knowledge and capacities – time-bound and context-specific – for Member States and other development actors to help design sustainable development solutions;
  • scaling up and investing in new models and tools that align volunteer-led sustainable development solutions to volunteer-identified challenges;
  • supporting the creation of informal virtual spaces where innovative ideas for voluntary action can be shared by diverse stakeholders, including volunteers, policymakers, practitioners, academia and the private sector to accelerate all types of knowledge-sharing, including the sharing of local knowledge, beyond immediate communities; and
  • continuing to mobilize resources and energy to create opportunities for individuals and teams to provide new perspectives from openly available data to supercharge ideas to solutions.

 

  1. Measure the impact on the well-being of volunteers and the 2030 Agenda by:
  • investing in national data on participation trends and patterns to help understand who volunteers and the roles that volunteers play, especially, using global standards and tools developed by the International Labour Organization;
  • diversifying approaches to understanding the costs and benefits of volunteering, not only for the organizations that benefit but also for volunteers themselves and society as a whole, in addition to promoting culturally-sensitive ways to assess impact; and
  • strengthening impact models to allow policymakers to better understand the lasting impact of volunteering at all levels, as well as the relative impact of different models and approaches to volunteering, and further recognize its value resulting in policy coherence and integration.

 

  1. Strengthen the alignment of volunteer efforts with SDG gaps and challenges by:
  • ensuring the diversity of volunteering practices, approaches and models are thoroughly assessed as policy options to transform and fill SDG gaps and address challenges at the global, regional, national and local levels, including through their integration into national, sectoral and local strategies and plans; and
  • better reflecting the diverse and unique approaches to reimagined volunteering and their transformational and accelerative effect on SDG pathways and trajectories led by Member States by moving beyond the positive contribution of interventions and projects only involving volunteers.

 

How will we work together?

 

  • We call for the passion, commitment, leadership, creativity and innovation of all stakeholders, including United Nations Member States, the United Nations system, volunteer-involving organizations, civil society, the private sector and academia to engage in our reimagined approach to volunteering for the Decade of Action.
  • We call for deepening the engagement and shared solidarity of the global community of volunteers to help deliver the SDGs.
  • We call for the sharing of new evidence and knowledge to strengthen the potential and impact of volunteering for the 2030 Agenda as well as the financing to support the generation of evidence and knowledge, particularly by actors from the global South.
  • We call for expanded and varied kinds of collaborations, alliances and partnerships that bring together different viewpoints, skills and models in more rapid and flexible ways to reenergize volunteering for the SDGs.

Looking forward to 2030 and beyond, we aspire to celebrate the spirit of all forms of volunteering and applaud action, contributions and efforts by all types of volunteers throughout the world by reimagining volunteering for the 2030 Agenda during the Decade of Action.